Resources

All Resources

Drop-In CW R1A Consulting ("Tutoring") by CWP Faculty

**UPDATE** Our writing consultants are available online during social distancing and online learning in spring 2020. Contact a CWP writing consultant through email (below) to set up a time to work on your draft. PDF iconSee this flyer for tips on how to make the most of your meeting.

We have faculty consultants available to mentor you and support you in revising a College Writing R1A essay-in-progress during the following posted drop-in hours. You don’t need an appointment—you can drop in with these instructors at these times for a consultation. All of the faculty have years of experience teaching writing and can work with all students.  Below find listed highlights of the specialties for each faculty member -- though all College Writing Programs faculty have experience in each of the various areas.

Have access to a copy of what you’re working on as well as specific questions to discuss either individually with a faculty member or in a group setting where you can ask questions as needed of the facilitating faculty member or peers while you work on your writing.


Spring 2020

 

John Levine 

Areas of Expertise: literary analysis, persuasive writing, narrative writing

Wednesday, 1:45-4:30 jblevine@berkeley.edu

Chisako Cole 

Areas of Expertise: multilingual student writing, storyboarding/outlining, close reading

Monday and Friday, 12:00-1:00 and Wednesday, 12:00-12:45 chisakoasakawa@berkeley.edu

Ryan Sloan 

Areas of Expertise: multilingual student writing, digital/multimodal writing, visual analysis

Wednesday and Friday, 12:00-1:00 rsloan@berkeley.edu

Donnett Flash 

Areas of Expertise: political analysis, close reading, reading difficulties

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 9:30-10:30 dflash@berkeley.edu

David Wiese 

Areas of Expertise: multilingual student writing, coherence, outlining and developing ideas, writing about research

Tuesday and Thursday, 11:40-1:00 dcw2116@berkeley.edu

Kaya Oakes 

Areas of Expertise: literary analysis, persuasive writing, research, narrative

Tuesday and Thursday, 9-10 and 11-12 kayaoakes@berkeley.edu

Ben Spanbock

Areas of Expertise: drafting, revising, textual analysis, and persuasive writing

Monday and Tuesday 10:00-12:00 spanbock@berkeley.edu

Kim Freeman

Areas of Expertise: drafting, revising, narrative, structure, literary analysis, research, writing in the disciplines

Tuesday and Thursday, 12:30-1:50 kfreeman@berkeley.edu

Jonathan Lang

Areas of Expertise: analysis of literary and visual texts; rhetorical analysis; argumentation; organization.

Monday and Wednesday, 12-1 jclang@berkeley.edu

Teri Crisp

Areas of Expertise: multilingual student writing, argument, visual analysis

Monday and Friday 12:30-1:50 tcrisp@berkeley.edu

Margi Wald

Areas of Expertise: multilingual student writing, grammar and vocabulary, organization

Times negotiable, set up via email: mwald@berkeley.edu

Contact 
Donnett Flash