Resources

All Resources

CWR1A Consulting by CWP Faculty

We have faculty consultants available to mentor you and support you in revising a College Writing R1A essay-in-progress over Zoom, email, or phone during the following posted hours. All of the faculty have years of experience teaching writing and can work with all students. 

When you email an instructor to request an appointment please mention that you are a student in College Writing R1A this semester, and let us know who your instructor is. And please read the FAQ to help with getting the most out of your appointment. 

CWR1A Consulting Flyer with FAQ
 

Instructor Info

Chisako Cole: Tuesdays, 8-10:45. Come see me about close reading of texts, brainstorming ideas and drafting your writing projects. chisakoasakawa@berkeley.edu

Teri Crisp: Friday 12:00-1:30 pm: close reading, generating ideas, drafting essays, and second language challenges. Email me to schedule an appointment at tcrisp@berkeley.edu

Donnett Flash: Tuesdays 9:30-11:30am. Email me at least half an hour in advance, and I’ll set up a videoconferencing  session to discuss close reading and various revision strategies. dflash@berkeley.edu

Kim Freeman: Mondays 11am-2pm PST. I’m happy to work with you on brainstorming ideas, as well as drafting, issues of structure and clarity. kfreeman@berkeley.edu

Mary Grover: Wednesdays 7-9 pm PST.  Email me up until 7 pm on Wednesday to meet and get help with reading, brainstorming, organizing and developing ideas, and making your essays live up to their potential marymgrover@berkeley.edu

Jon Lang: available M-Th from 10 am - 4 pm PST, with an advanced notice of at least 1 day. I can help with analyzing texts (close reading); with identifying strengths and weaknesses of your drafts, with structuring your essay. Contact me: jclang@berkeley.edu

Mike Larkin: Tuesdays 11 am - 12:30 pm and 4-5:30 PM. Contact me for help with planning or revising drafts of your essays. larkinm@berkeley.edu

John Levine: Wednesdays 1-3pm, Thursdays 9:30-11:30am. I’ll work with you on brainstorming and drafting your writing projects. Email me to schedule an appointment: jblevine@berkeley.edu

Kaya Oakes: Mondays 9-11, Thursdays 9-11, and by appointment. Ready to work with you on argument, analysis, brainstorming, revision, and big-picture ideas. kayaoakes@berkeley.edu

Ben Spanbock: Wednesdays 12-3pm PST. Come see me about planning and developing your writing projects.  spanbock@berkeley.edu

Margi Wald: Thursday 5:00-7:00 pm and Friday 8:30-10:00 am PST.  Sign up for an appointment time online one day in advance.  I am happy to work with you throughout the drafting process, especially with clarifying your thesis, organizing your ideas into a smooth and linear argument, and working on grammar and word choice.