Resources

All Resources

CWR1A Consulting by CWP Faculty

We have faculty consultants available to mentor you and support you in revising a College Writing R1A essay-in-progress over Zoom or email during the following posted hours. All of the faculty have years of experience teaching writing and can work with all students. 

When you email an instructor to request an appointment please mention that you are a student in College Writing R1A this semester, and let us know who your instructor is. And please read the FAQ to help with getting the most out of your appointment. 

CWR1A Consulting Flyer with FAQ

Weekly Schedule


Mondays:  8-9am (Cole); 9-11am (Oakes)
Tuesdays:  9-10am (Wiese); 10-11:15am (Freeman); 11-12:15 (Larkin); 1-2:45pm (Flash); 4-5:30pm (Larkin)
Wednesdays:  8-9am (Cole); 9-10am (Wiese); 1-3pm (Levine)
Thursdays: 9-10am (Wiese); 9-11am (Oakes); 1-3:30 (Levine); 3-4pm (Sloan)
Fridays:  8-8:45am (Cole); 10-12pm (Freeman); 12-1:30 (Crisp); 1-3pm (Spanbock)

Instructor Info

Chisako Cole: Mondays & Wednesdays, 8-9 and Fridays, 8-8:45. Come see me about close reading of texts, brainstorming ideas and drafting your writing projects. chisakoasakawa@berkeley.edu

Teri Crisp: Friday 12:00-1:30 pm or by appointment: reading, generating ideas, drafting, and second language challenges. Email me to schedule an appointment at tcrisp@berkeley.edu

Donnett Flash: Tuesdays: 1-2:45 p.m. dflash@berkeley.edu

Kim Freeman: Tuesday and Friday 10am-12pm and by appointment. I’m happy to work with you on brainstorming ideas, as well as drafting, issues of structure and clarity. kfreeman@berkeley.edu

Mike Larkin: Tuesday 11-12:15 and 4-5:30. Come see me for help with planning or revising drafts of your essays. larkinm@berkeley.edu

John Levine: Wednesday 1-3pm, Thursday 1-3:30pm & by appointment: brainstorming and drafting your writing projects. Email me to schedule an appointment at  jblevine@berkeley.edu

Kaya Oakes: Mondays 9-11, Thursdays 9-11, and by appointment. Ready to work with you on argument, analysis, brainstorming, revision, and big-picture ideas. Email to make an appointment: kayaoakes@berkeley.edu

Ryan Sloan: Thursday 3-4pm and by appointment. Work with me on projects at any stage, including brainstorming and drafting your writing projects. rsloan@berkeley.edu

Ben Spanbock: Friday 1-3pm and by appt. Come see me about planning and developing your writing projects.  spanbock@berkeley.edu

David Wiese: Available Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 9 to 10am and by appointment and ready to assist you with any aspect of an assignment, from first readings of tough texts to polishing final drafts. Just email me at dcw2116@berkeley.edu